Vintage Publishing – Ones To Watch

@Crime_Queen’s picks of the best crime and thrillers from Vintage Publishing in 2012…

*************************************************************************

One of the joys of working on the Vintage crime list is its range and diversity: we publish the big names – including the international phenomenon that is Jo Nesbo and Henning Mankell, the man who was writing thoughtful, gripping Scandi crime when Stieg Larsson was still an unknown Swedish journalist – alongside the stars of the future, including Jason Webster, Stuart Neville and Arne Dahl.

Phantom – Jo Nesbo

One of the most eagerly awaited new books of 2012, Phantom is the latest nail biting instalment in the phenomenally successful Harry Hole series by Harrogate special guest, Jo Nesbo.

After the horrors of his last case, Harry Hole left Oslo and the police force far behind him. Now he’s back, but the case he’s come to investigate is already closed, and the suspect already behind bars.  Denied permission to reopen the investigation, Harry strikes out on his own. At every turn, he is faced with a wall of silence.  But Harry is not the only one interested in the case. From the moment he steps off the plane, someone is watching his every move.

Someone wants him silenced…

If you’ve not read Jo before, you’re in for a real treat! With a fantastic central character and books crammed full of fiendish plot twists, it’s easy to see why his last book went straight to the top of the bestseller charts. And with Martin Scorsese lined up to direct the big screen adaptation of The Snowman, we know Jo’s star is set to rise even higher…

Or the Bull Kills You – Jason Webster

Tired of snowy Scandinavian crime fiction? Then how about some sizzling hot Spanish crime courtesy of Jason Webster’s brand new series

‘The most enchanting new detective I’ve come across in a good while’ Guardian

Or the Bull Kills You is set in Valencia and introduces us to Chief Inspector Max Cámara who is forced to deputise for his boss one hot afternoon, judging a bullfight that stars Spain’s most famous matador. That night, he is summoned back to the bullring, where the matador’s dead body now lies, naked and mutilated.

As Cámara hunts for the killer through the city streets and bars, the city prepares for Fallas, the five-day festival of fireworks and bonfires. The result is an explosive combination of death, money, politics and corruption, and a brilliant new read.

‘Does for Spain what Michael Dibdin did for Italy’ Crimesquad.com

The Blinded Man – Arne Dahl

The first book in the critically acclaimed Intercrime series, The Blinded Man is an intelligent and gripping crime novel that is perfect for fans of Henning Mankell’s Kurt Wallander series.

Two of Sweden’s most powerful businessmen have been murdered.

In the face of mounting panic amongst the financial elite, a task force has been created to catch the culprit before he kills again. To his surprise, Detective Paul Hjelm, currently under investigation for misconduct after shooting a man who took a bank hostage, is summoned to join the team.

But the killer has left no clues – even removing the bullets from the crime scenes – and Hjelm and his new teammates face a daunting challenge if they are to uncover the connection between the murdered men and identify any potential victims before he strikes again.

This is intelligent, character led Scandinavian crime fiction at its very best.

[A] superb police procedural… Dahl has created a brilliant character and a terrific story, and should that not be enough, this is a classic cop-shop tale of the old school’ Globe and Mail (Canada)

**********************************************************************

Plus look out for the paperback of Stuart Neville’s breakneck new thriller, Stolen Souls, coming in the summer of 2012…