“Finnish Voices across the Generations”

Sunday 16 July
St Wilfrid’s Church | Harrogate | 7.30pm

Please note this event has now taken place.


Terhi Paldanius | Violin                               Jussi Tuhkanen | Viola
Jukka Untamala | Violin                             Petja Kainulainen  | Cello

In celebration of 100 years of Finnish independence and to mark the 60th Anniversary of the death of the iconic Finnish composer Jean Sibelius, the Kamus String Quartet join together two generations of Finnish composers and present their intimate music in the beautifully atmospheric St. Wilfrid’s Church.

Jean Sibelius is widely recognised as Finland’s greatest composer and his String Quartet in D minor “Voces Intimae” is a remarkable work of great intimacy. Although less widely recognised, Einojuhani Rautavaara and Esa-Pekka Salonen are both significant figures in contemporary classical music.

This uniquely enticing programme will be performed by the internationally acclaimed Finnish ensemble the Kamus String Quartet who have won numerous prizes throughout Europe and regular collaborate with Finnish contemporary composers.

Sibelius Adagio D minor, JS 12
Rautavaara String Quartet No. 1
Salonen Homunculus for String Quartet
Sibelius String Quartet D minor Op. 56