Please note, this event has now taken place

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Saturday 27 July 2019

Royal Hall | Harrogate | 7.30pm

Tickets: From £29

Conductor: Kahchun Wong

Soloist: Julian Bliss

Please note that all transactions are subject to a £1.75 booking fee.

Please note that boxes are not bookable online. Please call the box office.

Please call our box office to book wheelchair seats.

BOX OFFICE: 01423 562 303.

Founded in 1840 by a group of Liverpool music-lovers, the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic is the UK’s oldest continuing professional symphony orchestra and one the world’s oldest concert societies. The Orchestra gives over 70 concerts each season in its home, Liverpool Philharmonic Hall.

Julian Bliss is one of the world’s finest clarinettists, excelling as a concerto soloist, chamber musician, jazz artist, masterclass leader and tireless musical explorer. He started playing the clarinet aged four and has since inspired a generation of young players as creator of his Conn-Selmer range of affordable clarinets and introduced a substantial new audience to his instrument.

Praised by Musical America for the “depth and sincerity of his musicality,” Singaporean conductor Kahchun Wong quickly earned international attention after winning the 5th Gustav Mahler Conducting Competition in 2016. Since then, he has developed a reputation as one of the most exciting conductors of his generation.

Puccini’s Capriccio Sinfonico was presented as his graduation composition in July 1883 and was only the second of his works ever to be published. Julian Bliss, one of the world’s finest clarinettist, joins the RLPO onstage to perform Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto in A major, which was completed less than two months before the composer’s death. Originally intended for basset horn, the version widely known today was transcribed for clarinet, with the listener hearing the work with differing colours. The 2019 summer season is brought to a close with the last of Brahms’ symphonies to be composed. With its serious tone and striking complexities, each of the movements of his fourth symphony bears the distinct stamp of his personality.

Puccini Capriccio Sinfonico
Mozart Clarinet Concerto in A Major, K.622
Brahms Symphony No.4

This event is included in our Library of Live free ticket scheme. Join as a free Library of Live member today.

Please note that bags larger than an A4 piece of paper are not permitted into the venue. One bag per patron – no rucksacks. This is a policy of the Royal Hall. For more information about this venue go to