Book of the Month

Our Book of the Month is what it says on the tin: a book we’ve selected, each month, that we think you’d like. 

Sick of stacks of books on your bedside table going unread? Drowning in book recommendations? Check in with us and see what’s recommended, then join in the conversation on social media on #YoureBooked or contact us with your reviews!

FEBRUARY 2020

In Plain Sight by Marion Todd

A child’s life is at stake. Which of the residents of St Andrews is hiding something – and why?
When a baby girl is snatched from the crowd of spectators at a fun run, the local police have a major investigation on their hands. DI Clare Mackay and her team are in a race against the clock when they learn that the child has a potentially fatal medical condition.
As Clare investigates she realises this victim wasn’t selected at random. Someone knows who took the baby girl, and why. But will they reveal their secrets before it’s too late?
The second instalment from an exciting new Scottish detective series. Perfect for fans of Alex Gray, Rachel Amphlett and D. K. Hood.

‘An original concept in police procedurals, See Them Run is suspense loaded from start to finish – and author Marion Todd couldn’t have delighted us more.’
I AM IN PRINT magazine

‘A breath of fresh Tartan noir’
Scottish Field magazine

In Plain Sight, second in the DI Clare Mackay series, echoes the themes of See Them Run, Marion Todd’s debut crime novel: vivid sense of place, strong female lead, authentic police procedure. The protagonist’s love interest whets the appetite for more. I look forward to Book 3 in the series.’
Claire Macleary, author of Cross Purpose

Author Marion Todd

About the Author:

A native of Dundee, Marion Todd studied music with the Open University and worked for many years as a piano teacher and jobbing accompanist. A spell as a hotel lounge pianist provided rich fodder for her writing and she began experimenting with a variety of genres. Early success saw her winning first prize in the Family Circle Magazine short story for children national competition and she followed this up by writing short stories and articles for her local newspaper.
Life (and children) intervened and, for a few years, Marion’s writing was put on hold. During this time, she worked as a college lecturer, plantswoman and candle-maker. But, as a keen reader of crime fiction, the lure of the genre was strong, and she began writing her debut crime novel. Now a full-time writer, Marion lives in North-east Fife, overlooking the River Tay. She can often be found working out plots for her novels while tussling with her jungle-like garden and walking her daughter’s unruly but lovable dog.

In Plain Sight is released on 20 February 2020.

View it on Amazon.

JANUARY 2020

DECEMBER 2019

AUGUST 2019

JULY 2019

JUNE 2019

MAY 2019

2020-02-06T12:56:48+00:00