Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel Awards & Festival Opening Party

  • Thursday 20 July 2023 | 8.00pm
  • The Live Event Tent | The Old Swan Hotel, Harrogate
  • Tickets: £25
  • Please note that all bookings are subject to a £1.75 transaction fee.

The presentation of the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year is one of the most hotly anticipated nights in the crime fiction calendar. Now in its 19th year, it has become the most coveted prize for today’s crime writers.

Past winners include Mark Billingham, Val McDermid, Lee Child, Denise Mina, and the 2022 recipient Mick Herron.

Who will take the 2023 title? Six shortlisted authors will put their game face on as Master of Ceremony Mark Lawson presents the murderously good line-up. The coveted Novel of the Year Award, dubbed the crime writing fraternity’s equivalent of the Oscars, with a pint of Yorkshire’s finest thrown in, kicks off the 2023 Festival in style.

An icon of the genre will also be honoured with the Outstanding Contribution accolade.

Celebrations continue with the official Festival opening party.

2023 Longlisted Books
Voting is now open for the shortlist, and will close at 23:59 on Thursday 18 May 2023.


2023 Shortlist Announcement
The 6 shortlisted authors will be revealed on Thursday 15 June
when you can start casting your vote; voting will close Thursday 13 July 2023.

Sponsored by

In Partnership with

In Partnership with